The Arts Council Announces Winners of 37th Annual Arts Awards







Contact: Jennifer Gelband
Marketing Director
(203) 772-2788 x23

Oct. 6, 2017

Creative Ecosystem: Friday, December 1, 2017, 11 a.m., New Haven Lawn Club

New Haven, Connecticut – The Arts Council of Greater New Haven is thrilled to announce the winners of the 37th Annual Arts Awards. The theme of Creative Ecosystem honors those who are radically expanding the word “art” to influence entrepreneurship, social justice, food, or health, those in thriving collaborations and daring experiments that sustain our creative community, and those who challenged us to reconsider preconceived assumptions about “art” this year.

The Arts Awards is ACGNH’s signature event and a highlight within the community. This year the general public nominated more than 50 individuals and organizations who have had significant impact on the Greater New Haven arts community. A jury selected five recipients from the nominations, and The Arts Council will present the awards at a festive luncheon at the New Haven Lawn Club on Friday, Dec. 1, 2017, at 11 a.m.

2017 Awardees:

  • The C. Newton Schenck III Award for Lifetime Achievement in and Contribution to the Arts is presented to an individual who has spent their career embracing and endorsing the arts to the benefit of audiences of all ages. This year, the ACGNH’s Board of Directors unanimously decided to present this award to Jock Reynolds, artist and director of the Yale University Art Gallery, for his lifelong contributions to the arts in Greater New Haven.
  • The Architecture Resource Center creates hands-on workshops and textbooks for students that teach design-thinking and creative problem solving throughout Connecticut.
  • Since 2006, Diane Brown has been Chief Librarian at the Stetson branch of the New Haven Free Public Library on Dixwell Avenue, building a community space that truly celebrates African-American history and literature.
  • Reverend Kevin Ewing is a former police officer, Transitional Minister at Center Church, neighborhood organizer, leader of Baobab Tree Studios and a trusted creative partner to many. Everywhere he goes, he makes sure all voices are heard.
  • Musical Intervention provides opportunities for individuals and groups to perform and record original music. Their programs specifically empower disenfranchised and otherwise vulnerable individuals, boosting confidence and connectedness in our community and beyond.
  • The massive Nasty Women New Haven exhibition united hundreds of artists throughout the state. Drawing a wall-to-wall crowd, the reception and subsequent events were definite highlights of 2017.

The annual awards luncheon will be Friday, Dec. 1, 2017 at the New Haven Lawn Club with a social hour at 11 a.m. and the luncheon and recognition at 11:45 a.m. Tickets are $95 for members, $110 for nonmembers and will go on sale Oct. 23, 2017, at, by calling (203) 772-2788, or emailing A limited number of $40 artists’ tickets are available.

The 2017 Arts Awards Honorary Committee: Barbara Pearce; Bitsie Clark; Tony Rescigno; Jocelyn Maminta; Mayor Ed O’Brien; Steven Kaplan; Charlie Kingsley; Rick Wies; and Erik Clemons.

The 37th Annual Arts Awards are sponsored by The Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, Edgehill Realtors, Pearce Real Estate, Key Bank, Metropolitan interactive, Yale New Haven Health Yale New Haven Hospital, Chamber Insurance Trust. Additional sponsorship opportunities are available. For information, please call Development Director Megan Manton, (203) 772-2788.


About The Arts Council of Greater New Haven: The Arts Council of Greater New Haven, publisher of The Arts Paper, is a regional nonprofit arts agency that provides leadership to and advocates for member artists and arts organizations and connects them to one another, to audiences, and to the Greater New Haven community. Visit the Arts Council at, call 203-772-2788, like us on Facebook at, follow us on Twitter @newhavenarts, or Instagram @newhavenarts. #ArtEverywhereNHV

Leave a Reply